All Olympics, all the time

I’ve taken over the TV in the main room to watch the Olympics, because I love them. I love them more than deep-dish pizza and Nutella gelato, and that’s saying something. Here are 5 reasons why you’ll find me glued to the Winter Olympics until the last flash of the Closing Ceremonies:

1. Those overblown theatrical Opening Ceremonies. Don’t you just love seeing how a country will present its history? This time around, I really liked the enormous props and all the usual pomp and circumstance, but the ballet scenes! Oh my. Fantastic.

2. The parade of countries. More specifically, I enjoy the parade of the different countries’ outfits. Did you see them? Here’s a link to an Olympic fashion recap. Did you have a favorite? I wish I could say that I liked the USA patchwork-quilt-like-hand-knit sweaters, but um…. no. They just looked obnoxious.

I was a big fan of Andorra’s sweaters (beautiful), Poland’s winter coats (subtle and sweet), and even Great Britain’s classic navy look (I’d wear that). My favorite by far was Canada’s red coats and maple-leafed mittens.

3. Some of the commentary. I know some of the commentators detract rather than enhance the action, but in my opinion, figure skating would not be the same without Scott Hamilton.  Say it with me: “Triple Axel, Triple LUTZ!” Love that.

I have a feeling that Apollo Ohno is going to add that same kind of flair to speed skating, and man, the guys calling all the snowboarding and X-games events? Gnarly groovy awesome.

4. Athlete profiles. Sure, they’re a little schmaltzy, but I still like them. Who doesn’t like hearing about the people who have given up a lot in order to make this dream come true? The one thing I wish is that they would put more of these online for those of us who like them and leave the primetime for the actual events.

5. The knitting. Did you see the Finnish coach who was knitting at the top of the slope style snowboarding event? My daughter yelled, “Mom! They’re knitting!” That was fabulous.

About my own knitting, I decided to finish the Arizona socks first. That’s right — I am a disciplined person who stays on target to finish the task before turning to the next one. Like an Olympian focused on the goal, I am knitting these socks and tuning out all other distractions. It’s my yarny homage to all Olympians and their fearless pursuit of excellence. Citius, Altius, Fortius.

arizona socks

Or maybe it might just have to do with the fact that I need those needles to start my next project. Ahem.

Are you watching the Sochi Games? What’s your favorite part so far?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to All Olympics, all the time

  1. Those socks look amazing. If you were here in Atlanta, you would be glued to the TV, anxiously awaiting another winter storm! Ha. At least the opening ceremonies are more upbeat! 🙂

  2. rgemom says:

    I LOVE the Olympics (well,maybe excluding Curling which I just don’t get). The athletes are amazing. And I have to agree with you on the US Opening Ceremonies outfits. Yikes!!

Leave a Reply

