Knitting Olympic-style

I’ve lurked around on knitting blogs forever. Long enough to remember back in the day when Stephanie Pearl-McPhee challenged herself to try something new, different and amazing in her knitting in honor of the Winter Olympics and she encouraged others to do the same.

That was 8 years ago.

It was so cool, so fun that the next time around, it seemed like everyone wanted to play along. Folks formed groups on Ravelry to join in this “do-it-yourself-knitting-challenge-along.” (And I’m sure you could find any number of Rav groups to join; just search under “Ravellenic Games” and pick the one that speaks to you).

The Winter Olympics seem like the perfect time to start a new knitting project because there are hours and hours of coverage to watch AND it’s the perfect weather to be “in.” If you’re like me, you really enjoy watching the whole drama of competition, while wrapped up securely in a quilt with a lovely cuppa nearby, but you feel a little guilty in whiling away those hours without doing something productive. Knitting takes the edge off that guilt.

I’m still working on those Arizona-looking socks, but I’m thinking of taking a break and starting anew with this:

20140205-202419.jpg

Red, white and blue sock yarn from my stash. I don’t even know what kind of socks I’m going to make with it, but who cares? It’s red, white and blue sock yarn!

Whatever I end up knitting from it, I’m hoping to have a full pair of socks by the end of the Closing Ceremonies. Not exactly a gold medal, but in this subzero weather, it’s a close second.

Are you watching the Sochi Olympics?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitting Olympic-style

  1. paigesato says:

    I am! I, too, remember the Yarn Harlot’s call to action, and I’ve got my needles raring to go!

  2. go Mama O says:

    Yes, staying in and watching the Olympics is our plan too. Last Olympics I made a play kitchen out of cardboard boxes!

Leave a Reply

