Manic Monday or Easy Eve of The Eve?

I started to write a list of all the things that need to happen before Wednesday morning, but I stopped. Although lists usually restore my faith in order, this one cause me to panic: it’s too long, there aren’t enough hours in the day, I’ve got ground to make up from being sick with the flu all last week…. How is all of this going to get done?

And then I realized that I almost always feel this way on the Eve of The Eve.

We’ve yet to clean the house and wade into the nightmare parking at the grocery store. Not everything is wrapped… heck, not everything has been purchased yet. Then there’s the grand prep for Christmas Eve dinner, which means that there’s more to clean… Vicious cycle, that.

And that’s not to mention baking and decorating cookies (non-negotiable in our family, it must happen before The Eve), watching the rest of the Christmas movies, and another list of “wanna-dos” on top of the “must-dos” goes on and on.

Every year I think I could have prepped better for this day. Every year.

So I’m curious — is today a Manic Monday for you as you get ready for Christmas? Are you racing around trying to make sure that everything is just so before Wednesday? Or are you done, sitting back, drinking holiday punch and delighting that all your planning has paid off?

I’m off now to clash carts in the grocery store. Before I go, I thought I’d share this video of Cloverton singing a holiday rendition of “Hallelujah.” Music is the best stress reliever this time of year, don’t you think? Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Since I won’t be back in this space until after Wednesday, I wanted to wish you all a lovely, happy, and peaceful Christmas. Safe travels to all who are in transit this year, and I’ll see you after the wrapping paper settles.

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christmas, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manic Monday or Easy Eve of The Eve?

  1. Lisette says:

    Take a deep breath my friend :). It will all fall into place, it always does. I agree about the music. I had to run out to get a CD player when ours died. I had to hear my Christmas cd collection;)

Leave a Reply

