Handle with care

I know this may seem like a little thing, but how are your eggs cracking these days? Notice anything different about them? I have.

Over the past several months, it seems like the eggs I buy at the store don’t split neatly into two sturdy halves.

Instead, they crumble.

IMG_4387

Just look at how thin that shell is. Either I’ve completely forgotten how to crack an egg or something is up with these eggs.

It doesn’t seem to matter what store brand I buy — although I will grant you I haven’t tried organic eggs, because at the rate we eat and use eggs around here, we’re always buying whatever is cheap or on sale. But we’ve always bought the inexpensive kind and haven’t had any trouble. Nowadays, I tap them a couple of times on the side of the bowl, and before I can dig my thumbs in to separate the halves, the shell splinters into thousands of little pieces.

Perhaps I’ve noticed this phenomenon in recent months because I’ve been baking more with the kids. It seems we are forever fishing out those little chips of eggshell out of the cookie dough or cake batter. Tiresome game, that is.

And now we’re moving into the prime cookie-baking, dessert-making season, which means late night baking sessions for those last minute “Hey-did-I-forget-to-tell-you-that-I-signed-you-up-for-two-dozen-brownies/cookies-due-tomorrow?” conversations. My nerves are steeled for that, but throw in weird eggshells that might disintegrate into crunchy little bits?

It’s going to be a bumpy baking season, I think.

What about you? I’m curious — have you detected a difference when you crack your eggs? 

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Handle with care

  1. Micha says:

    Yes! I thought I was just being more careless lately, but you are right!

  2. Katie B says:

    I’ve noticed this over the past couple of years even. I always crack them into a separate bowl to be sure no shells get into whatever I am cooking.

  3. I think you are right. I remember demonstrating that you could hold an egg in your had and squeeze as hard as possible and the shell wouldn’t break. Tried it a few years ago and had a huge mess to clean up. Something is going on.

    • I just saw that experiment somewhere online and thought it would be an interesting test, but I definitely won’t now! Thanks for saving me a big ol’ mess to clean up!

      Wonder what could be making eggshells so crumbly and brittle?

      • Probably the same things that make the breasts gigantic!

        I still think you should try the egg experiment, not that I want you to make a mess, do it over the sink. But it would be interesting to see if they shatter the same. Better wear gloves too so you don’t get cut, the shells may be weaker, but I bet the are still sharp.

  4. i have to admit I haven’t noticed. Maybe they crack differently in Canada?? LOL! Next time I crack an egg I will really pay attention to the cracking effect. Very interesting and intriguing? Hmmmm?

    • If Canadian eggs don’t crumble, I can see loads of bakers boarding buses to cross the border for decent eggs! Seriously though, I’d love to know if you have the same experience…

      • First of all, I am allergic to eggs so I don’t eat a lot them but i do cook with them. My family members love eggs for breakfast and my younger daughter has been doing a lot of Christmas baking lately. So a fair number of eggs have been cracked in our household lately. I interviewed the family members and this is the verdict. They thought I was very strange asking how the eggs were cracking lately. They all stated there has been no difference. The eggs are cracking into nice halves. My baking daughter even said she had no trouble separating her yolk from her whites the other day. So Canadian chickens seem to be happy birds and are laying eggs that don’t crumble when cracked. I don’t want to guess but could it be due to the chickens in your area being force fed and mass fed? Keep me posted…

      • I’m so glad you wrote, Thea. So Canadian eggs are just fine, same as always — interesting. Just seems to confirm that there’s something welrd with our eggs/food system.

      • I cracked open an egg today when making pancakes and it cracked beautifully. Sorry. It is interesting that even though we live in neighbouring countries, we have so many similarities yet so many differences. (even the spelling). LOL

  5. amyp22 says:

    I thought it was just me. Glad I’m not the only one experiencing this.

Leave a Reply

