Halloween forecast

100% chance of rain.

Louie and the rainy day

Louie and the rainy day

That’s the weather forecast for today, and boy, were they spot on. It’s dreary and gloomy and wet, but at least it’s a warm rain and so far, no lightning.

Because it’s raining, I can also predict that there will be an 85% chance of trying to pawn the trick-or-treating responsibilities off to the teenager. Given that he has already informed me that he’s got other plans tonight, I guess there’s also no way that he’ll be shepherding the kids around the neighborhood. Sigh.

And the teen says no.

And the teen says no.

(Also, it looks as though there will be a 30% chance of “Mom-guilt” twinges for this stunt, increasing every hour until trick-or-treat time is officially over.)

This just in: a “sugar-front” has crossed the bus line and is making its way toward my house. Two dervishes, soaking wet, giggling, and jittery from the candy at the classroom parties, have been sighted and will approach my front door within the hour. Stay clear of windows and flying backpacks.

It’s not going to matter that I’ve taken precautions to make pulled-pork sandwiches and coleslaw for dinner. Periods of sneaking candy will continue long into the nighttime hours, with stomachaches and cramping to follow. By daybreak, the sugar hangovers will be in full effect with ongoing times of groaning.

Candy bowl breached at 6:32 pm on 10/30. By my husband S. Free-for-all ensued.

Candy bowl breached at 6:32 pm on 10/30. By my husband S. Free-for-all ensued.

What’s the Halloween forecast in your area?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Halloween and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Halloween forecast

  1. πŸ™‚ it’s raining here too, we will be leaving our house in 1 hour and Nate doesn’t want to get into his costume and the dogs are too excited ha!ha! πŸ™‚
    Happy Halloween Joan πŸ™‚

  2. Micha says:

    Happy Halloween! I just saw some drops now…but a little rain can’t be any worse than the hurricane from last year and the big snowstorm from the year before that! Hope you can get out of it and stay dry, Joan! Enjoy…

    • Holy cow — you have had some terrible Halloween weather! Hope this year is much better!

      I tried to reason with the kids — we have a lot of candy here and we could just eat it, stay dry and maybe watch TV. In pjs. Yeah… no dice. Oh well, I know they’ll only want to trick or treat for a couple more years and then I’ll miss it. πŸ™‚

  3. Lynne says:

    It is pouring here, too! But, at least it is warm and the wind calmed down, so hopefully we’ll have some kiddies get this candy outta here!!!

  4. That made me laugh! Good luck with your exciting evening! πŸ™‚

  5. CTW says:

    Hmm. Yes, we have a whole bowl of Halloween candy left. Stuff I like, too. Drat. Hey, Joan, are you still following the Simplify2x blog that I started in Liz Whitacre’s COD class? I have been blogging more at http://www.claretwalker.com, and I moved all the Simplify2x stuff over there. I put up a new post today about NaNoWriMo — I’m starting today!

Leave a Reply

