Return of Charlie

Last year around this time, I wrote about our family’s Legend of Charlie. Every family needs its traditions, I suppose, but I’m not sure I would have chosen this one. Using a styrofoam skeleton to teach the little ones that Mom’s knitting is not a plaything may seem extreme at the very least. I’m sure it will serve as fodder for long, costly therapy session in later life.

But one cannot argue that it has been effective.

I can’t believe that it’s time to pull Charlie back out of his plastic bags.

Hello, Charlie.

Hello, Charlie.

Seems like only yesterday we were setting up the new jack-o-lantern head on our lamp post and futzing with the styrofoam gravestones. Now it’s time again to get ready for the holiday trifecta of Halloween-Thanksgiving-Christmas.

setting up hallloween decorations

This year is a little different. In the past, the twins have always liked helping my husband S and their brother M set everything up. But now, it’s their show. They’ve taken charge. They set up the scene the way they wanted, adding the strange plastic gray rat (the one that I usually “forget” in the bag) into the graveyard display on our sad, sorry flowerbed.

As they were pulling everything out and deciding what to put where, I heard them joking about their new “Charlie” stories. Here’s my latest favorite:

Once upon a time we had an older brother named Charlie. One day he ate all the chocolate chip cookies that Mom had just baked and no one else got any. I don’t know what happened, but after that, he was never heard from again. All that was left were the crumbs and THIS SKELETON! Dun-dun-DUUUUUUN!

It’s fabulous really. I couldn’t have made up anything better myself.

Got a Halloween “legend” around your house? 

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family, Halloween and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Return of Charlie

  1. Ha! I remember your Charlie story from last year and I think it is….Genius!!!!!

Leave a Reply

