Got ice?

Hi. I’m M. This week will be my parent’s anniversary, and so I’m giving my mom the week off. I’m just that nice. Also, I don’t have to get up.

Right now I’m isolated downstairs on a couch, trapped on an island on a sea of pain. My only comfort is a bag of ice. Soon I’ll have to dive in and embrace the anguish, swim through the waters and cling to the hope that somewhere, somehow, someone will have a cure to my misery.

I’ve got shin splints.

duckie ice bag

They started about a month ago. I came home from Cross Country, and my shins ached. I assumed that since I’m new, they hurt because my muscles were adjusting to the change. Oh, how wrong I was.

After two weeks of this aching, I started to realize that not all was well in the land of calves. I went to the bike room for a few days and they went away.

Or I thought they did.

They returned on Monday. This time however, they brought in their sore heel grenades and cramp guns. I had ice. Lots of it.

Right now the shin splints are winning. They strike when I go up multiple flights of stairs or when I mow lawns. Pretty soon I’m going to have to resort to my secret weapon- full body icing.

Full body icing is where you fill a tub with ice water, put your feet in and wait for about 10 minutes. Then you sit down.

Now you see my hesitation.

From what I’ve heard, full body icing is effective and painful. No pain, no gain.

For now, I’ll keep using bags of ice. But pretty soon I’m going to have to do something different. Something to change the battle. Especially since tomorrow we’re doing segments around a lake.

Until then, I’ll be on my island on a sea of pain…

Do you like to run? Have you ever gotten bad shin splints? Do you have any tips on how to get rid of them? Thanks!

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Got ice?

  1. mtetar says:

    Thanks for sharing, get all the rest you can get, exercise taking time, keep up with your medication, and Get WELL Soon! Blessings, Mtetar

  2. The “land of calves” can be a perilous place. Hope you feel better soon! I have a “sports injury” in my shoulder that I incurred by writing too much. Yes, I hurt myself doing a sedentary activity and am being forced to ice. I would try running but, since I’m already failing at sitting still, I don’t think I should risk it.

  3. Oh man! I suffered terribly with shin splints when I was in high school. I hate to tell you this but as an adult they still hurt when I overdo it and the front of my legs have a rippled bump up and down them from it. No one ever told me about full body icing. I would do anything to reverse the effects! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

