Making their own fun

It’s been hot here the last week or so — the kind of hot where you get “Special Weather Statements” on the Weather Channel telling you not to hang around outside for fear of heat exhaustion. Looking out the window, I find it hard to believe that it’s not a perfect time to play tennis or ride bikes, but about 30 seconds outside on the patio made me a believer. It’s toasty out there.

Suffice it to say, the kids go outside for a few minutes and then come back in all hot, sweaty and grumpy. Even the Wii has lost some of its appeal, especially since ours is broken and won’t play any of the games with discs. They can really only play “Super Mario Brothers” and, as I have been informed several times this summer, that gets old.

In my opinion, the unrelenting heat wave + a broken video game + three bored kids = a perfect opportunity for them to exercise their creative muscles. I’m all about them making their own fun as long as it doesn’t include a subsequent trip to the E.R. or rehabbing the house afterwards.

My daughter E decided to take matters into her own hands. I knew something was up when I saw the sign tied to the bannister with yarn:

festivalsign

She and her twin brother C are creating a festival downstairs. Family only, I’m afraid. Sorry about that.

The planning has been intense and secretive. From what I gather, there will be games, music, and if she can get away with it, food. Oh, and balloons.

balloon hat

She found a bunch of balloons that I didn’t even know we had and fashioned them into a fetching hat of sorts.ย My understanding is that the whole balloon headgear thingie will be presented to the overall winner of the games.

The entire festival takes place this evening in our downstairs family room. I’ve received my ticket (because you have to have a ticket to get in, you know) and I’m really looking forward to whatever she and her brother have cooked up.

Besides, I think I’d look particularly striking in that hat….

What do your kids do when they hit that midsummer boredom phase and it’s too hot to play outside?ย 

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Making their own fun

  1. Enjoy the show! We had a backyard spectacle the other day (when it was still cool enough to be outside longer than 30 seconds) that involved singing, interpretive dance and audience participation. Amazing what the kids and their friends come up with when forced to use their imagination!
    p.s. Now that it’s day four of a heat wave here, we’ve given up…TV it is! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Love that!! Interpretive dance sounds absolutely fantastic!

      Our festival starts in about 5 minutes — after they put the finishing touches on it. Somehow I think the dog is a part of the show. Makes me nervous… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My grand kids who I am babysitting this week invited me to come to their “restaurant”, complete with a menu to peruse, background music and a play place for the dolls, er I mean kids. I was quite impressed when my chair was pulled out for me. I ordered chicken wings and a fruit salad. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ha!ha! I like that hat too! ๐Ÿ™‚ they are so cute preparing their own show! I hope you are having lots of fun this summer with your little ones Joan ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Ingrid — it’s been so busy! Even though I’m hard-pressed to come up with an answer for “What are you all doing today?”, I feel like almost every minute is taken up by SOMETHING! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hope you and your guys are doing well too this summer! ~Joan

  4. Diane says:

    Mine use to send their baby sister down the stairs in a laundry basket. No trips to ER so I hadn’t a clue what they were up to until years after……along with many other things….sigh

    • I know I really don’t want to know all the boredom busters they come up with on their own. I think that’s why I was so happy with this festival — organized, no-ER-trip fun? Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

