It begins

Day one of summer break. I thought the kids might sleep in, enjoy the freedom of no set schedule, no hurried showers, no last-minute “I forgot you have to sign this” paper shuffle. There’s no need to rush to the bus stop with untied shoelaces flapping as I yell (yet again) for them to look both ways before crossing the street. It’s summer, man. Time to relax.

Instead, the twins were up around 6-ish this morning. Old habits die hard, I guess.

Even Louie the Wonder Pup is confused by the fact that the kids are still around on a Monday. He keeps bumping his nose into my leg as if to say “Are they supposed to be here?”

"Wait -- they're here all day?"

“Wait — they’re here all day?”

It’s not like we don’t have things to do. Today, I have a list of appointments, errands and tasks, but we’re starting with mucking out their backpacks that are chock-full of God-knows-what. I made the mistake of peeking in one of them over the weekend, and I found candy wrappers, torn and crushed papers and notes, old markers, scissors, broken crayons, and bits of fluff. The folders that were once so pristine are completely decimated, and don’t even get me started on the billions of teeny pencils. For some reason, the kids love to use pencils that have been ground all the way down to the silver eraser holder. I don’t get it.

Already this morning:

  • We’ve had an argument about absolutely nothing at all.
  • I’ve gotten off track by looking through old photos with my kids. Not sure how we even started looking at that….
  • When I finally cloistered myself in my office to get a bit of work done, I heard the tap-tap-tapping of a little hand on the door with a “Whatchya doing, Mom?”
  • There have been no less than two pleas for homemade cookies.
  • I’ve been informed that A) there’s positively nothing to read here, so B) we need to go to the library stat.
  • I’ve also been advised that one of my kids would like to start whittling. As in with a knife. Unsupervised.

Just a note about that last one. Whittling is not going to happen on my watch.Β That one will need to wait until their father comes home.Β My rule is “No one goes to the E.R. on the first day of summer vacation.”

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It begins

  1. Diane says:

    I can see that this blog is going to be a hoot to follow. Glad I found it!!!!

  2. I can imagine a house full is an adjustment. I think it is a great goal for the day, and maybe a local place would have a summer class for whittling? Hopefully you get a chance to get some work done and you ans the dog can manage.

    • The adjustment is the thing, exactly! I think the puppy felt like I did — wait, this is my time to get stuff done (in his case, nap). But if last August is any indication, I’ll completely forget how to do the morning school rush and when they leave for school it will be far too quiet.

  3. Ahhh, the holidays. They seem to be especially long in the U.S (virtually the entire summer?) Its different when you’re a big sister and there’s a 20 year age gap. My 12 year old sister is visiting us in Berlin again this summer. We have such a long itinerary that I’m not sure we’ll get through it all. I may be being over-ambitious….

    p.s I’m v impressed by your super-cute talking dog!

    • Yep, the whole summer — at least where I am. Some places have a year-round school with intermittent breaks and honestly, that seems so much more sane to me.

      How fantastic that your sister is visiting you! I’ll bet she’s excited. Love that you’ve got it all planned out. Can’t wait to read all about it on your blog… πŸ™‚

      PS — Lou the Wonder Pup says thanks!

  4. πŸ™‚ wow! no way there would be whittling under my watch either! πŸ˜‰ too scared! can’t believe your days has been so busy already! mine is begging me to put his boots on right now as I’m writing this, I can’t even get 2 minutes alone! πŸ™‚ I’m sure your summer will be full of FUN activities Joan!
    πŸ™‚ Love, love Louie’s picture; adorable!

    • They were up so much earlier than I thought they’d be! I really thought everyone would be conked out until at least 8:30, but they were up and at ’em really early.

      I expected the interruptions and the random bickering about nothing, but the whittling thing completely threw me. Where did that even come from?! And what’s going to happen on Day Two?! πŸ™‚

      Enjoy your time with little Nate! And I know you’ll enjoy your summer with him too!

  5. rgemom says:

    Your house sounds eerily similar to ours. We have six more days until that wonderful first day of Summer. Good luck!

    • It’s that transition from busy-busy-busy to open-ended time that’s the hardest adjustment, don’t you think? Even our public pool, the holy grail for my kids, isn’t open during the weekdays until next week. Oy.

      Hope you and your kids have a wonderful last week of school and an easy “bump” down to summer break. Enjoy!

  6. So funny!! This will be my life very soon! We are leaving for a trip on their last day of school next week though….crazy right!? I won’t even have time to unpack all of that grody stuff from their backpacks!

    • Actually, I think you’re on to something. If you leave for vacation on the last day of school, you don’t have this weird sense of “nothing on the schedule” after a month-and-a-half of crazy, hectic event after event after event. Personally, I think it sounds like a good strategy; let me know if it works!

      As for the backpacks, trust me. There’s nothing in there that you want to see anyway! πŸ™‚

  7. Ha! Good luck wading your way through the summer vacation. Everyone will adjust in no time. Before you know it, school will start again and they will be wanting to sleep in until 8:30!!!!! I think readjusting is harder for the mom, right? πŸ™‚

    • That sums it up perfectly, Erin! Just about the time they finally feel like sleeping in, I’ll have to start transitioning them back to a school schedule.

      I will admit that the best part of summer break is the unrushed mornings. I’m not marshalling people out of bed or hurrying them off to the bus stop just in time. Love that part!

  8. Eight more school days and we’ll be facing 9 weeks of…well, I’m not exactly sure what yet! But definitely NOT whittling! πŸ™‚

    • So your kids are off now? We have almost 12 weeks of summer. That’s a LOT of time off, in my opinion — for good and ill.

      The whittling thing completely threw me, but there’s no way I’m throwing knives into the “I’m-so-bored” summer soup. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

