And then there was one

Today is our last full day of school before break. Tomorrow our kids will board the buses and head to their respective schools for one hour before making the return trip home and to summer freedom.

That’s right. They’ll be at school for a whole hour and that’s it. I’m not sure what they do for 60 minutes other than pick up their report cards and (at the elementary schools) drop off teacher gifts. It’s always struck me as a weird schedule, one hardly worth blasting the kids out of bed or running the buses.

This super-short last day of school is long-standing tradition in our school district, but next year, it’s going to change. Both the first and last days of the 2013-14 school year are now required to be full-length days.

So the parents who gather at my kids’ bus stop wanted to go out with a bang. We’ve decided to spend this last hour on the last day having “Breakfast at the Bus Stop.”

It started small. Just four of us, planning to bring breakfast bites like cinnamon rolls and muffins, orange juice and coffee. Then we started inviting the parents from the other bus stops to swing by. Then I may have mentioned our plans to folks on the other side of the busy road — the ones whose kids walk to school — and told them to come on over. And bring their lawn chairs.

I have no idea how many people might show up, but I hope everyone can make it. I’m also toying with the idea of asking my husband (who has the day off work tomorrow) to grill sausages and bacon, but then I thought I might be getting a little out of control. Does bacon put us over the edge?

Nah, I’m sure it’ll be fine. Everything’s better with bacon. After all, it’s just an hour.

When’s your kids’ last day of school and do you have any traditions to celebrate it? One of my friends blasts her kids with water balloons and squirt guns as they get off the bus for the final time each year. They absolutely love it. She’s done it every year, and now her oldest is graduating 8th grade. Unbelievable how quickly it goes.

 

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to And then there was one

  1. What a wonderful idea . . . celebrating and building community all at the same time!

  2. KBT says:

    I love this idea! Thanks for sharing it! (may have to give it a whirl… we have a whole month left still 🙂 )

    • Isn’t it weird how some districts are already out, some are nearly done and others go until the end of June? So strange to me! Enjoy your last month — every last bit of hectic craziness! 🙂

  3. What fun!! Hope you have a wonderful breakfast with the other parents! 🙂
    Kenley

    • Thanks, Kenley! It was so much fun! Most of the food was miniature — what cracked me up was my one friend asserting that “Anything can be made in a muffin tin!” (turns out to be true!). The hour went by so quickly that when the kids got off the bus, we sent them to get toys and meet us back at the bus stop to play. Best last day ever.

  4. What a fun idea Joan! 🙂 one hour having breakfast while waiting for them to come back! 🙂 sounds really fun and delicious with that bacon Maybe? !!!

  5. mtetar says:

    Great idea, Joan! Unity is so much needed. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  6. Lynne says:

    Love the idea – especially the addition of bacon 😉

  7. Looking forward to seeing party pictures. Have a great time !!

  8. This is great!! I love that you thought the bacon might be a bit out of control!!! haha!!

    • I hesitated about BACON! I can’t believe I questioned myself. 🙂 Turns out that one of the other gals made the cutest little mini quiches. She lined the cups of a muffin tin with bacon and then poured beaten eggs and spinach into them and baked them for about 15 minutes on 350. So good.

  9. I can just see you sitting at the bus stop for the hour having a lovely time together. Thank you for sharing this delightful idea. Your school season ends quite early compared to where i work. My students are not finished their school year till the end of June and their last day is a full day, not just for one hour. ~Thea

  10. Joan says:

    It was delightful! So much fun hanging out with my neighbors and then with all the kids after they got off the bus.

    I agree: it seems far too early for school to be out. I’m sure some of that is the cool weather we’re having. It’s strange for me that some kids have been done for a while now, some like mine are just out, and others still have nearly a month to go. Hope you have a great last few weeks!

Leave a Reply

