Emergency Blogging Protocols now in effect

We interrupt this blog for a weather report. It’s been raining.

And raining. And raining. And raining.

It doesn’t seem earth-shattering, really, except for this: so far we’ve seen about 6 inches of rain fall, with an additional 2 inches of rain coming this afternoon.

I’m a weather-worrier. Really, I’m a general all-around, all-occasion worrier, but severe weather with strong winds, torrential rain, and lightning/thunder kicks up my fretting to a whole new level. It’s like I’m trapped in an endless loop, wearing a path in the carpet while checking on our house’s status, making sure the kids, husband and dog are all fine, and trying to access the Weather Channel’s radar map so I can figure out when it’s all going to be over.

The rest of my family doesn’t worry so much. It’s nature, they say. What are you going to do about it?

I’m going to keep trekking on my worry-path, that’s what. Even if I know rationally that it doesn’t make one teeny tiny iota of a difference.

I never used to be this way. Severe weather never concerned me when I was a kid, and I didn’t worry if the house would hold up or if we’d all be blown away. But when I became a mom, I felt my worry gene kick into overdrive. I know I’m not going to be able to prevent Mother Nature from buffeting us with winds, thunder, hail, lightning, and snow, but I’m still going to give it a shot if it means keeping my kids safe, warm and dry. Even if I’m doing nothing more than imitating Don Quixote, tilting at windmills.

We lost power early this morning — early, as in “before the coffeemaker kicked on.” So we hauled out the camping equipment to find our little percolating coffeepot to make some java on the gas stove. Breakfast — adventure style.

Then they’ve called off work and school in our little corner of the world because, well, I don’t think anyone can get there.

With so much rain, my husband and I decided to go see if the road was passable. As soon as there was a lull, I grabbed my big blue coat, the one that makes me look like Paddington Bear, and we headed out.

20130418-121414.jpg

20130418-122004.jpg

This is a photo of our little neighborhood park and its “lake.” It’s really a pond, but they call it a lake. It’s swollen over its normal boundaries, flooding the playground, pier, and even the porta-potty. Eew.

20130418-123113.jpg

The current of water from the pond is streaming across one road and down through the subdivision. And yes, people are driving through it. Don’t try this at home.

20130418-122756.jpg

Do you worry about the weather (like I do) or do you just take it as it comes (like the rest of my family)?

Also, this blog has been brought to you by our little iPad. I’ve never used it to blog before, but with the power off and our wi-fi connection tenuous at best, I figured I’d give it a shot. I’m curious how it will work out. Anything look weird to you about this post?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Emergency Blogging Protocols now in effect

  1. Micha says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of flooding going on there! Don’t you love the people who try to drive through that and then get stuck like they thought it wouldn’t happen to them?
    Everything looks fine on this end! Your iPad passed blogging initiation!

    • Whew! Glad to know that I can use it if I need to and it won’t look any differently!

      Lots of rain and it only got worse as some towns around us got hit with flooding. What a weird week!

  2. Oh yes, you do have a lot of moisture Paddington… I mean Joan. Just like you, I take the weather warnings seriously having been caught off guard over the years like being stuck in my car in a blizzard on the highway for four hours to having golf size hailstones come down in the middle of a golf game, I like to be prepared. Luckily, most of the time the weather behaves. Having done your blog on iPad worked out very well! If you hadn’t said anything, I wouldn’t have noticed. Stay dry and hope this is it for your area so things can dry up. ~Thea

    • Stuck in your car in a blizzard? Out in a hailstorm? Holy cow! That’s the stuff of my nightmares….

      We’re drying up today — our little “lake” receded pretty quickly. Luckily for us it is down a hill from our house so we didn’t have flooding from it.

      Blogging via the iPad was different. I’m glad to know I can do it, although putting in pictures was a little strange. I’ll take it over not blogging any day of the week though! Take care!

  3. oh! no! too many days of rain! we had a sunny day yesterday and today it’s raining and cold! I can’t believe how bad it is there, so much rain, I hope your electricity will be back very soon and you and your family are warm and dry. I worry very much about the weather since I became a mother too! I keep thinking about the bad weather that is coming on our way soon too! Glad you were able to post from your iPad today!

    • We had a little dusting of snow this morning. Honestly, this is some of the strangest weather coupled with some of the strangest, saddest events in the world.

      Hoping that you weren’t hit by bad weather and are having a lovely, relaxing weekend!

  4. For some reason I you popped into my head today and I realized I hadn’t seen a post from you in awhile and so I clicked on your sight and here you did have 2 posts I didn’t see. For some reason you didn’t show up in my Reader???? Anyway, I can’t believe all the rain you guys had. I saw that sink hole on the news too….Holy Cow!!! There is definitely reason to worry!!

    • Wonder what I did to make WP Reader not like me? I noticed fewer clicks last week and wondered if everyone was busy. 🙂 Have to check out what the issue might be. Thanks for coming to find me though! 🙂

      It’s been crazy trying to get around, and now there’s more rain in the forecast. We were fine, but our schools were closed FOR RAIN! First time I’ve ever experienced that.

Leave a Reply

