‘Twas the day after Christmas

‘Twas the day after Christmas

And surveying the scene

I saw the Mess spreading

Over rooms once clean.

messlego

A Lego set opened,

Plastic bags on the floor

With Nerf guns and crayons

And boxes galore.

And a helium-filled, remote-control shark floating over it all....

And a helium-filled, remote-control shark floating over it all….

I cried to my children,

“Clean it up! Clean it all!”

But engrossed in their games

They heard not my call.

The latest game... Munchkin.

The latest game… Munchkin.

The fridge was packed tightly

With leftovers and nog.

But no one would eat them

Except for the dog.

Louie begging for food from the table. Again.

Louie begging for food from the table. Again.

I looked at my husband

And he shrugged back at me

“Can’t beat ’em, so join ’em,

And we’ll clean in ’13.”

(Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! Does your house still look like a bomb went off too?)

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family, Mothering and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to ‘Twas the day after Christmas

  1. Being June says:

    Lol – very nice! My house does indeed look like a bomb went off. Thanks for stopping by my little blog.

  2. Ha! Ha! Yes! Ours too looks like a bomb went off! πŸ™‚ cute dog! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I always wondered how long other people have the boxes and gifts out before they can’t stand it any more and put it all away. If my family is any indication, I have a much much much lower tolerance for “stuff” than they do!

      And Louie would like to thank you for commenting on his cuteness. πŸ™‚

      • πŸ™‚ same here but my hubby doesn’t mind having all our son’s toys around in our tiny living room, this morning I tried to put some things away but my little 19 month old kept screaming, so guess I will have to live with this for a couple of more days πŸ™‚ Say thank you to Louie, such a cutie πŸ™‚

      • And the toys for toddlers are huge, aren’t they?! I remember my twins at that age– their “stuff management” was hard!

        Sounds like you are having a great Christmas. Best to you and your family in the new year!

  3. alenaslife says:

    We could have split our lists and just bought 2 of each! My house looks exactly the same (except our LEGOs are Star Wars). So clever. I got a real kick out of this Joan.

  4. Katie B says:

    The Christmas bomb has exploded here too.

  5. Great poem!! I have never seen a helium filled remote control shark!! That’s awesome! Our house was such a mess the day after Christmas that not even my 5 year old son could take it anymore and started cleaning and organizing!!!

    • The shark is my daughter’s present, and she loves it. No Barbies or dollies for her — she’s into animals and wildlife. And the shark — it is amazing. Our friends got it for her (might be on Amazon, I think).

      Side note: oh, the things you can find on Amazon!

      Love that Bency decided enough was enough and started putting things away! I think my kids have a higher “stuff” tolerance than I do so there’s rarely any spontaneous cleaning up around here.

  6. Cul de Sac says:

    Bwahahaha, that ‘s a good summary of my life right now πŸ™‚ i try not to go in their room for I will explode somewhere in there and just throw everything out! hope you had a great Xmas! and I love your poem πŸ˜‰

    • I know exactly what you mean. I’m trying so hard not to be the kill-joy mon who is OVER the clutter and just wants the mess shrunk down to its normal state. You know — when the Legos are scattered all over the family room floor, but they’re not in every single room throughout the house. I’m giving it until just after the New Year and then there will be cleaning. If I can make it that long.

  7. amyp22 says:

    The day after and we were snowed in at my parents. Cleaning galore occurred because I knew Grandad wouldn’t be able to handle the mess for long.

    • Oh, you got a white Christmas at least! Are your kids having a blast in it? Around Chicago, we haven’t had any measurable snow. A tiny bit fell this morning and melted away. My kids are desperate to go sledding/snowboarding and they are disappointed that the weather has dumped snow everywhere but here.

      Now watch: I just jinxed us and we’ll be buried by a blizzard til spring.

      Was everything ok at the grandparents when you were snowed in? Close quarters and snow-fever sometimes are a dangerous combination…. πŸ™‚

      • amyp22 says:

        We live just outside Chicago and left the snow gear at home because of lack of space and it doesn’t usually snow much in Southern IN. Only our youngest braved the snow sans snow pants.

        Being at the grandparents wasn’t bad.

      • We’re out in the western side of Chicago and got just a sprinkling of snow. Not enough to shovel or sled (could still see the green grass tips through the patchy white). My kids are getting anxious for a serious snowfall and perhaps a snow day when school kicks in again. I, however, have decided that if we couldn’t have a white Christmas, I’m over the snow thing. Cold is fine, but let’s skip the slush and ice. πŸ™‚

  8. Susan Bahr says:

    Love the pic of the doggie begging – got two of those that do the same thing. Only one is more assertive. Ignore her and she’ll simply swipe the food off your plate when you’re not looking! Little bugger…

    • Lou the Wonder Pup has become quite adept at the begging motion. When people come over, they tend to “drop” food from the table for him. He totally knows what buttons to push to get the food! Happy New Year, Sue!

      • Susan Bahr says:

        my dog Bella knows to be in the kitchen when I’m making salad (which is pretty much every day) because she knows I give her the carrot tips… such a smart little goldie.
        Happy New Year to you and your wonderful family, too.
        Sue

  9. luvaloo says:

    LOL!! That would have been the scene at our house, too, but we lost power Christmas evening due to a snowstorm. Add some extension cords running through all the mess, and then quickly turn your dining room into an efficiency apartment, and you’d have our house.

    Last year the pastor at our church brought a giant floating clownfish up to church and floated it around our historic 1920’s church sanctuary as a Christmas surprise. It was simultaneously ridiculous and strangely beautiful. If you get a chance, you should take your floating fish into a large room like that.

    • I just read about your Christmas on your blog! Oh. My. Word! I think you’ve earned your pioneering badge!

      What a great idea to take the helium fish into a huge area! I’m sorely tempted to take it outside, but my husband thinks not. Maybe I can take it to the school gym sometime soon — it’s really fun, but I can see how fantastic it would be in a BIG area.

Leave a Reply

