How to make a knitter cry

You may remember back in August, I started knitting the fabulous glove pattern, Teknika, from Laura Nelkin in an effort to justify all those hours watching the Summer Olympics.

And then a horrible incident happened involving a dog, a wet mushy pile of yarn and my almost finished glove.

In the end, I untangled that ginormous mess and finally finished up the gloves… just in time to use them during a few colder days we had earlier this fall. No harm, no foul.

By the way, the whole hype about the magical properties of conductive thread? The rumor that you could actually use your smartphone without taking off your gloves to check your calendar, get your email, use an app or take a picture? Totally true. They worked like a charm.

Yes, I said “worked.” Past tense.

Louie the Wonder Pup, it seems, had returned to finish the job.

Mangled.

Mangled.

As best I can figure, it somehow got knocked to the floor where Louie saw it as a brand new shiny chew toy or the archenemy who had eluded him months before. Either way, he happily settled down to munch on it, chomping a huge hole in the side and gnawing at a few of the fingers as well.

And then I saw him and realized that he wasn’t chewing on any old toy but my brand new gloves that I had only gotten to wear a few times.

I must have wailed the ancient sorrowful cry of all knitter-kind at the sight of the mangled glove, because he froze, blue yarn dangling from his lip, and then sprinted up the stairs to hide in his bed. He did eventually drop it for me and then licked my hand earnestly, as if to say, I couldn’t help it. That yarn is so wonderful. I had to eat it.

sockattack sockattack2

He couldn’t even control himself when I tried to photograph the damage. And this is a dog who leaves other knitting alone, including projects made with Malabrigo or cashmere blends. Something about this yarn makes him go wild.

I’m not gonna lie: I teared up. The three things that are keeping me from going over the edge?

1. I have another skein of that yarn.

2. He ate the left-handed glove — the one without the conductive thread on its forefinger. In a pinch, I can wear two different gloves. Sure, I look even more like a fashion accident than normal, but it’ll do on a really chilly day.

3. Look at this face.

puppyface

I can’t be mad at a puppy who loves yarn as much as I do. We’ll just have to come to some sort of agreement that yarn is not for eating/chewing. Sigh.

Add one more glove to the top of my knitting queue. It’s getting cold outside.

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Family, Knitting, Puppy love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to How to make a knitter cry

  1. So heartbreaking when that happens! But I can see why it’s impossible to be mad at that little cutie!

  2. Cul de Sac says:

    poor thing! i can understand we CAN’T get angry with a small face like that, but still it’s heartbreaking…. As a knitter I can feel your pain. But i bet your next glove will be even more gorgeous 😉

  3. Leah says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear about this. 😦

    • Thanks, Leah. He really is too cute to stay mad at — I think the longest I’ve managed is about a minute (and that was for this glove incident). I guess that’s what I get for having a yarn-loving dog. I’ve just got to remember to put the gloves up higher!

  4. Yikes! I have cats that have similar reactions to certain types of yarn. Something in the wool. At least it was just one.

    • Since there’s other knitting to be done at this time of year, I’m thinking about sewing it up in a Frankenstein-like fashion and calling it “artistic.” At least until I can knit the other one.

  5. haha!! It’s so hard to be mad at a face like that!!! I think the two different gloves will make a great fashion statement!!

    • Hmmm — I typed out a response to your comment and WordPress seems to have eaten it. To reconstruct:

      Until I can patch this disaster up or knit a new glove, I’ve been wearing those stretchy gloves you usually find at the drugstore or dollar store. We have a pile of those for the kids to rummage through and lose at will. They never quite stretch to fit my not-so-dainty hands, but they’ll do in a pinch.

  6. anastasiamw says:

    Oh my gosh!! I would’ve teared up too, but you’re right about that face. He’s awfully cute.

  7. amyp22 says:

    Oh man, my heart hurts for you. Glad to know the conductive thread really works though.

  8. Oh no! I really feel for you!
    Kenley

  9. coricutecore says:

    This is terribly sad, yet still funny at the same time. It’s a shame it was a beautiful glove!! Good luck on making the next one!

    • It’s a good reason to look at the knitting queue and maybe shake some things up. I mean, I know my husband has been dropping hints for his own smartphone gloves, the kids want socks and scarves… but I might just have to bypass everyone so I can wear decent-looking gloves in public. 🙂

  10. jgann22 says:

    I am so sorry:( My heart feels for you.

    • It’s okay — really. He’s such a little stinker but such a cutie at the same time, and it’s really hard for me to be mad at him. It just gives me more knitting to do, that’s all. Not really a bad thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

