Scenes of a Halloween

Hope you had a happy Halloween. We’re recovering from all the fun.

It started on Halloween eve with the traditional carving of the pumpkin. Admittedly, we almost ran out of time this year, so what you’re about to see is “How to Make a Jack-O-Lantern in the 20 Minutes Before Bedtime.” After we chopped off the stem and gutted it, S went to work with his handy-dandy pumpkin carving tool:

jack-o-lantern carving

S wields his battery-powered pumpkin carver.

The result?

jack-o-lanternvampire jack-o-lantern

And then Halloween day arrived.  Fueled by the hyper-energy of the classroom parties, the kids spilled off the bus, and the low buzz started. Did you hear it at your house too? It sounded like this: “Mom? Mom? Mom? Mom? Mom? Moooo-ooom? Can we go? Can we go? Can we go now?” And it was followed by, “Mom? Mom? Mom? Mooooo-oooom? Everyone else is already out! Can we go?”

All this happened at about 3:45 and way before anyone had even begun ringing doorbells.

We did eat our slow cooker pulled pork sandwiches (recipe in this post) so that the kids wouldn’t explode from all that sugar.

pulled pork BBQ sandwich

Extreme close-up of dinner, courtesy of E

Then I bundled up to take the kids running through the streets. Key word — “running.”

All I could get was a blur…

My son M and my husband S outfitted the “Treat Table,” complete with fire pit, to take the edge off the cold. M had decided a while back that he would be handing out the candy this year (and, you know, eating a little of it too … for “quality control,” he assured me). They also sipped on warm spiced cider as they let the trick-or-treaters come to them.  Smart.

Back at the homestead, the kids divvied up their haul. M, S and I all nonchalantly swiped pieces while they weren’t looking.

Two kids managed to net all that in just under two hours. We’ll have candy for weeks… no, months!

I do, however, have a plan for sugar disposal. Our local food pantry will happily take any/all donations of extra Halloween candy.  I’m going to ask the kids if they would be willing to pass along some of their loot to those who just might need a little treat. Win-win.

How was your Halloween? Did you get lots of trick-or-treaters coming by? Or, like us, did you create your own perfect Halloween candy storm: overbuying candy to hand out AND taking in all that sugar from the kids’ trick-or-treat haul?  (Oh, my stomach hurts just thinking about it….)

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family, Halloween, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scenes of a Halloween

  1. I love your outside treat table and lounging area!!! Perfect night!!

    • I really liked the fire pit — it didn’t even seem chilly near the fire! This is the first year for the outside treat area, and we did it mostly because I didn’t want all the doorbell-ringing to freak out our pup, Louie. But I thought it was a nice way to be out amongst the trick-or-treaters. We might do it again next year, depending on the weather… Hope you and your family had a fun Halloween!

  2. Susan Bahr says:

    Halloween was a wash this year – too much going on to even buy much less carve a pumpkin! How sad! Still, I enjoyed reading and seeing other’s pictures – and I did have a pack of 4 year olds visit my office all dress as Spiderman, Superman, witches and princesses. That really made my day. I’ll have to check out your pulled pork recipe – I made pork in the crock pot yesterday and pulled it – just don’t know what flavorings to add… still, it was yuuuummmyyy….
    Hope you’re well and thanks for sharing for us Halloween-deprived.

    • Sue — I was wondering how you fared in the superstorm. Guessing Halloween was literally a “wash” with the fallout from all that rain.

      So glad that you had 4-year-olds come by your office. I think that’s the year that they first really “get” the whole trick-or-treat idea. I remember my son at 4 saying, “Wait. So if I ring a million doorbells, I’ll get a million pieces of candy?” No word on which parent he thought might go with him to a million houses…

      I think the crockpot is one of the best ways to cook pork — regardless of what sauce you use (if any). In my opinion (and mind you, I’m a COMPLETE amateur chef!), pork benefits the most from the slow cooking. It helps to ensure that the meat is done without drying it out. If you do try my mom’s pulled pork recipe that I posted, try eating it with coleslaw. Really. It’s a Southern tradition. 🙂

  3. Leah says:

    Wow! That is A LOT of candy haha – sugar rush for sure! Battery powered pumpkin carver? That sounds awesome – I might have to look into one next year!

    • I think we got that power carver from our grocery store 5-6 years ago. It is, and I cannot stress this enough, awesome for carving the jack-o-lanterns. It’s almost like a little electric knife. Worth tracking down…

  4. I love your new header. I also so wished i lived where we could set up an outdoor station with a fire pit to hand out candy. I love it! I am thinking roasting marshmallows while I sipped on some Bailey’s in a mug of coffee. Maybe next year. thanks for the inspiration! ~Thea

    • Thanks for commenting on the new header, Thea! That photo is from the Field Museum in Chicago, courtesy of my husband, and I think that quote is applicable to a number of creative endeavors.

      Also — love your idea for roasting marshmallows and sipping an Irish coffee made with Bailey’s. We may borrow that idea next year.

Leave a Reply

