And they’re off…

It’s back to school for the kids and time for me to remember what my “normal” schedule involves.  And frankly… we’re all a little rusty.

Finding that morning routine again is like riding a bike on the first spring day after a long winter — you sort of remember how to do it, but things are awfully shaky at first.  How is it that no one can recall all the steps to the “get-out-of-bed-eat-your-breakfast-and-to-the-bus-stop-we-go” dance that we knew so well in May?  My timing is totally off.  I keep looking at the clock, stunned to find myself behind on at least one of the three different schedules now running here.  And why am I struggling to remember what I used to pack in their lunches?

Now that they’ve left, I’m shocked at the quiet.  It’s so still in here I can actually hear the fans whirring.  It never fails to amaze me that after three months of activity, our busy hive is suddenly silent.  It’s weird and wonderful and freeing and a little sad all at the same time.

And this guy?

He’s completely lost without his kids to entertain him all day.  Poor Lou.

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family, Mothering, Puppy love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And they’re off…

  1. Lynne says:

    The first day of school is always a mixed bag of feelings…happy for the kids and their new adventures, but sad for me because it is another year that will fly by…Plus, I miss them being at home (even though my two are teens and I rarely see them before noon!) 🙂

    • It’s true. I’m happy that they’re back in school and back to their routine, friends, activities, but it’s very jarring that they aren’t justhere. I’ve grown so accustomed to them and our lack of a real routine that to go back to one seems strange.

      Of course, I just drank a whole cup of tea in complete silence without one interruption, so I think I can find my way back to our school-time routine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

