Olympic Knitting Progress

While I’m not technically competing in the Ravellenic Games,* E and I are knitting away the many hours while watching the Olympics TV coverage.  Her project has morphed a bit from the pink scarf into this:

Yep, it’s a purple… neck-something.  She’s not sure if it’s going to be a scarf or a cowl with a button closure.  She told me that she’ll decide later.

I think she has no less than 8 different projects going on various needles and she keeps asking me if we can go yarn shopping.  I’m telling you, mark it down right here:  that’s how a life-long obsession with knitting/crocheting/yarn begins.

In the meantime, I’m plugging along on this:

Close-up of my giant glove in progress

That little glove is a version of Teknika — except it’s not.

I tried to get gauge using the pattern and my original yarn choice, and it didn’t happen.  At all.  So I thought, “So what if it’s a little smaller?  Gloves stretch.  It’ll be fine.”

Ever try to cram your hand into your pre-tween daughter’s gloves because they were the only ones you could find?  Yeah, it was like that.  All the proof I’ve ever needed that I don’t possess “dainty” hands.  So I frogged it.**

I thought about reworking the maths to make the pattern a bit larger.  And then I gave myself a good mental shake and reached for this book instead:

If you’re looking for numbers for the basic patterns, this is your book.  You knit your swatch on your needles, figure your gauge, and she provides all the rest of numbers for you.  Ann Budd, you are my hero.

So now I’m knitting basic gloves from her book using sock yarn (Lana Grossa Meilenweit Multiringel in the Wave colorway) from my stash, but I’m going to include the conductive thread on the finger and thumb per the Teknika pattern.  And I gave up completely on doing the color work sections because I find it’s a little too fussy for me as I’m watching all those swimming/diving/gymnastics finals.

The gloves’ secret weapon? Conductive thread.

I’ll be thrilled to get these done before the torch goes out, although my husband has been dropping hints at every commercial that he wants his own pair of “Olympic iPhone gloves.”

Have you been watching the Olympics and what do you think of the coverage?  It’s been so difficult not to hear spoilers on the radio, TV and even NBC itself (!), but we’re trying.

*How to explain the Ravellenic Games?  The Games are hosted on Ravelry.com, the coolest site EVER for knitters and crocheters.  The idea is to challenge yourself to finish one or more projects, especially those you’ve never attempted to knit before.  You cast on during the Opening Ceremonies and bind off before the Closing Ceremonies conclude.  There are even specific teams and events…. it’s just a lot of fun.

**Knitting jargon check: “frogged” means to rip out your knitting.  Why “frogged”?  Because you have to “rip-it, rip-it, rip-it “(say it fast out loud).

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Family, Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Olympic Knitting Progress

  1. amyp22 says:

    Looks like the two of you are coming along. Hope you get them finished.

Leave a Reply

