Planning our Olympic knitting… and One Lovely Blog award

Tomorrow (!) is the Olympic Opening Ceremonies, marking the beginning of both the London Games and my every-evening-on-the-couch-watching-the-coverage marathon.  And you know what that means:  premium knitting time.

Preparation is key.  My daughter E and I are swatching up our projects so that we can have the proper needles, yardage, instructions, etc., all within our reach.

Her project:  a deep pink scarf knit in garter stitch.  She wanted to make sure that she could focus on the competition without missing a beat on her knitting, so garter stitch it is.  Her backup project, in case she finishes it before the end of the Olympics, is to crochet more shoelaces.

I’m thinking of knitting Teknika, a clever pattern for gloves with conductive thread on the finger and thumb so you don’t have to take them off to use your smart phone in the winter.  It’s a brilliant idea, and I’m dying to try them because 1) my hands are always cold in the winter, and 2) I hate removing my gloves to use my phone when the temperature dips below the freezing mark.

On the extreme off-chance I finish them (and these are my first pair of gloves that I’ve ever knit, so I’m trying to factor in messing up/frogging/reknitting time), I’m eyeing Bigger on the Inside.  It’s a shawl, and I have no idea how to wear a shawl so that I won’t look like a wizened old granny straight out of Grimm’s fairy tales.  But if you click on the link and check out the photos, I like how she drapes it scarf-style around her neck.  It looks so warm… and I need warm in the winter.

Are you going to watch the Olympics this summer?  Got any knitting/crafting plans during the Games?

*********************

I had just finished writing this post and I got the nicest surprise in my email from Melanie at the Coffee Club and Me blog.

She’d nominated me yesterday for the “One Lovely Blog” award — Melanie, thank you so much!  (By the way, you should click over to her blog.  Seriously.  Funny gal, funny stories, and great book reviews.  Did you click?  It’s awesome, no?).  I’m heading back there after posting this to check out the other blogs she nominated.

I’ve written before about how much I appreciate being nominated for a blog award.  Getting a shout-out from a fellow blogger is as sweet as finding a pristine, jumbo-sized chocolate bar in your freezer that your kids overlooked and your husband forgot about.  Even better, discovering new blogs recommended by a writer you already enjoy is as fantastic as having a personal shopper ransacking the clearance racks for you.

So in honor of the “expand-your-own-personal-blogosphere” nature of these awards, I’m going to add more blogs to the blogroll in the sidebar.  For random facts about me, just click on my “About” page here, and as a permanent thank you to Melanie for making my day, I’ve included the award here.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Planning our Olympic knitting… and One Lovely Blog award

  1. I am competing in WIP Wrestling. I have picked out my projects in order of importance/desirability. The nice thing about this is that I have already swatched and started. The prep work consisted only of locating all of the wips!

    Let me know how the conductive thread works out! I have been looking at Teknika for some time – such as awesome pattern.

    Good luck!

    • I’ll let you know how it goes with the thread. I bought it at the designer’s etsy store, but if these gloves work out, I’ll need to get more.

      Good luck to you with all your WIPs!

  2. Lynne says:

    Ha! I’m Like E…the easier the better when watching TV and knitting. I’ve had to “un-knit” one too many times! Enjoy the games 🙂

    • I’ve got great plans, but if the gloves and shawl get too fiddly, I won’t hesitate to throw them over for a simple scarf. I’m a little bit fickle that way! Are you going to be watching the Games and knitting too? Have a great weekend!

  3. amyp22 says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend. Let us know how the shawl works out. Made one last winter and have yet to wear it. I’d even be willing to mail you mine to try it out before tackling your own.

    Congrsts on the nomination!

    • That’s so nice of you (and you never know — I might just take you up on your offer)! What shawl did you make? Are you trying to figure out how to wear it too?

      I really love that Tardis motif on that particular shawl… but I have to admit that I’m wondering if I should just make another pair of socks instead. At least during the Olympics. I’m used to making socks, and it would be easy knitting for trying to keep my eyes trained on the TV.

      At any rate, I have to finish my gloves first. My husband has been hinting that he would really really really like his own pair of “iPhone gloves.” I just knew that was coming….

Leave a Reply

