Weekend wrap-up: Mother’s Day

I hope everyone had a lovely Mother’s Day.  My husband is a fan of the big Sunday morning breakfast anyway, but yesterday, he completely outdid himself.  For the record, we had scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, fresh berries, chocolate-covered strawberries (!), and baked French toast.  For everyone who likes a good breakfast recipe, I’ll try to get him to give it up for that French toast because it is out of this world.

He also bought some sparkling apple-grape juice and let the kids drink out of wine glasses.  E told us that she wished she could always use a wine glass to drink from because “it’s just so fancy and so fun.”  (Side note: should I be worried?)

After breakfast, S and the kids gave me a present of that plastic patio drinkware.  S knows that I have a secret obsession with this stuff.  Every year I wander through Target’s seasonal aisle and gaze longingly at the colorful plastic cups, plates, and other picnic utensils that I never knew I needed until I saw them.   But I never buy any of it because I find it hard to justify the cost when we have perfectly good plates and cups already and when we don’t really have a ton of extra cupboard space.  I was tickled pink when I saw it — it makes me want to run out and have lemonade on the patio right now!

I told S that I didn’t really need a present — I just wanted to spend a lovely day with him and the kids.  He told me:  “No, you wanted a bicker-free zone.  I had to hedge my bets.”  Good call, hon.

And yes, we did see “The Avengers” and it was fantastic.  They really balanced the action with some seriously funny lines — I wish more movies did this instead of relying on CG effects.

So today it’s back to the grind.  We’re halfway through May, which means that my hamster wheel is spinning faster than ever as we wind down the school year.  Ever notice that when you take a day off, your to-do list grows longer?  Foremost on the list (even ahead of grocery shopping) is giving this guy a bath:

Yeah, sure he looks cute, but the funk coming off this puppy?  Eye-watering.

How was your weekend?  Did you have time to relax before gearing up for the end-of-May event marathon?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Mothering, Puppy love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend wrap-up: Mother’s Day

  1. Micha says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day!

  2. anastasiawraight says:

    That sounds like an absolutely lovely day! And I really enjoyed Avengers. I didn’t think it’d be nearly as funny as it was, but, I agree, there was a good balance with the action. I could watch it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

