Spinning on the hamster wheel of May

Welcome to May.  Before I had children, I thought of May as the time when I could absolutely put away my winter gear and break out the short-sleeved shirts.  I could count on days of sunshine to mop up April’s sogginess.  I could throw open the windows and breathe the sweet, fresh spring air.  And Mother’s Day meant remembering to get stamps for my mom’s card.

After I had children — but before they went to school — I thought of May as the time when I could take the kids to different playgrounds because the weather was beautiful and not too hot.  I liked eating dinner out on the patio because the bugs hadn’t moved in yet.  The kids loved playing outside, digging in the sandbox or in the dirt of the garden.  And Mother’s Day meant that, although I still needed to remember to get stamps for my mom’s card, now I got cards from my own kids.

Where you'll find me: Hamster Wheel Highway

Now that I have children in school, I think of May as the Hamster Wheel Month.  The activities just keep coming and I’m running as fast as I can.  At the end of the day, I’m completely zonked, but I still have loads more to do before the next day’s events.  Everybody has something going on.  Concerts, concerts and more concerts.  Sports.  Scouting stuff.  Teacher Appreciation stuff.  Meetings.  Finals and placement testing for next year.  Field Days.  End of the year ceremonies.   I know there’s more because my calendar is bursting with all sorts of scribbles.  I can barely keep the camera charged in between events.  And Mother’s Day has become sort of a time-out day when nothing is scheduled.  I can slow the wheel for a second and hop off to catch my breath before the next round.  And remember that I forgot to get stamps again.  (I’ll call you, Mom!)

Don’t misunderstand me:  all of it is fun and exciting and tear-jerking (especially the concerts and special school ceremonies) and I don’t want to miss a minute of it.  That’s why I’m spinning as fast as I can on May’s hamster wheel.

I’ll run and run, and things will just keep going faster and faster until wham!  The kids are out of school for the summer, the wheel suddenly stops, and I fall off of it, grateful for the momentary stillness.

So let’s stretch out, people — it’s a long month.  Get everything nice and loose before we jump on that wheel.  Camera’s charged.  Full tank of gas in the minivan.  Thank-you cupcakes in the oven and laundry’s in the washer.  Who’s with me?  Let’s go!

How’s your May shaping up?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Family, Mothering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spinning on the hamster wheel of May

  1. Trina Lambert says:

    May is busier than December for people with kids in school! Yes, one day you, too, might get to plant your annuals in May. That was my plan last year during my first free May in 13 years and then my back went out! At least I had the time to be injured . . . and the month was cool so the flowers could wait.

    • Someday I WILL have beautiful flowers in my front yard, but yeah, I’m thinking this isn’t my year. Sigh.

      • Trina Lambert says:

        I’m crossing my fingers that this year I can take advantage of May downtime; however, now we have some things to do for my husband’s parents. Maybe downtime is just a myth–I’ll let you know if I find any or not.

  2. Micha says:

    The schools really need to space things out better…seems like it’s crazy in Sept. & Oct. (expensive, too) and then again May. It’s almost over though and then we’ll be wishing for September again! 🙂 Get stamps, Joan.

  3. Lynne says:

    I call it “May Madness!” It is just insane how many events there are to attend!

  4. alenaslife says:

    I was actually laughing out loud filling in our family calendar this month. End of soccer, beginning of basebal,l end of year reports and projects due, band and choral concerts, out of town guests. Oh, and you can fit in a few blog posts each week, right?
    Keep on running lady.

    • It’s just crazy, right? Solid gold idea: make calendars with fold-outs for extra room for the months of September and May. I’m going cross-eyed trying to decipher what I wrote in these teeny-weeny little boxes.

      Also: out of town guests in May? You are an overachiever! 🙂

      Is it wrong that I’m already cramping up and it’s only May 3rd?

      • alenaslife says:

        I’m not really crazy (?) — they’re not staying with us. My brother-in-law is an artist with a show opening in Chicago so he’s in town with his fiance. Big plans this weekend.
        Remember that adage to take it “one day at a time.” Hah!

      • Sounds like a fantastic weekend — good luck to your brother-in-law with his opening! How fun!

  5. Lis says:

    May has also become a “nickel and dime” month. Band t-shirts, chori t-shirts, field day t-shirts, pizza day, field trips, etc… What gets me is the second round of school pictures. We took them in September, and if you don’t do the one in May you’re not included in the classroom picture. Really? Another question, I’m full speed on that wheel, why don’t I lose weight?

Leave a Reply

