Got books?

Did you know:  today is UNESCO’s World Book and Copyright Day.  It’s an event to promote reading and publishing throughout the world.

Did you know:  tonight is World Book Night, which is the brainchild of a different organization altogether.  Folks like Alena will be handing out free books around their towns this evening.  Free books!!!!  How incredibly fun is that?

Apparently, E knew all about it, because this weekend, I found this note posted to her door:

She likes to post notes on her door to tell us exactly what she’s doing.  Think there’s any way that will continue when she’s a teenager? (Don’t tell me… Let me hold onto this thought.)

Couple all this creativity and celebrations of books with a spontaneous trip to the Apple Store, and you’ll understand how my husband and I got into a long debate about the virtues of e-readers.  (As an aside:  do you remember in the movie, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” how Holly Golightly used to wander by Tiffany’s every once in a while because it was all shiny and wonderful?    My husband does the same with the Apple Store.)

Do you use an e-reader or iPad or are you strictly a book-book person?  I gotta tell you:  I’m pretty much a book-book person, but I’m starting to appreciate the whole idea of e-readers, especially as my library keeps adding in new titles that I want to read.

If you’re a convert to the world of e-readers, share the zeal.  My husband is dying to buy a shiny, new iPad.

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in books, Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Got books?

  1. My thoughts on Kindles are here! I was anti-Kindle… until I got one!!

    http://graveyardsandgrasslands.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/kindle-convert/

    Great post! Thanks,
    xx GnG xx

  2. Micha says:

    I love the note on your daughter’s door! Yes, I’m sure you will still get the notices when she’s a teenager but they will be in the form of texts! 🙂 I can’t wait to tell my daughter what today is. Thanks for letting us know! She is working on a biography project due this week and she chose Beverly Cleary. We have loved her books, and she wants to be an author when she grows up (among other things). I’m sure she’ll get inspired when I tell her about your post! By the way, she is the only one in the family who has an e-reader — she saved up for it all by herself and bought it last year! Are you all going to go get your free books tonight? That’s so neat…

    • Oh I love Beverly Cleary! Her Ramona books are so much fun — I remember heading right to her section in the library when I was a kid.

      How does your daughter like her e-reader? Did she get a Kindle or a Nook? That’s so awesome that she saved for it — love that sense of financial purpose!

      • Micha says:

        After we went through all the Beverly Cleary books, we got involved in the Hank the Cowdog series. Have your kids read any of those? They are pretty funny…and the author is still writing more. I think we are reading #59! My daughter got the Kindle 3G with wifi (but without the touch screen). We thought at her age she might get frustrated with the touch screen if it was acting up. She says she likes it because it’s lighter than holding a book. 🙂

  3. Diane Hiller says:

    I have recently purchased a Nook. My daughter, the writer, hates the thought of e-readers and refuses to succumb. She loves keeping books on her shelf and wants a library in her home someday. I like the fact that I can click back and forth between books in my library anytime, anywhere on my Nook.

  4. Lynne says:

    Love the note! My kids used to do that…I get texts now 🙂

Leave a Reply

