Beware the Ides of March

Always sage advice, but never more than today for our pup Louie.

Today, he’s getting neutered.

I swear he shot me a look this morning when I told the kids we needed to drop him off early at the vet (just after 7 a.m.) for his procedure.  You could just see it in his eyes:  “Et tu, Brute?” [Okay, not really.  I don’t think he knows Latin.]

Actually, there are a lot of good reasons for spaying or neutering your pet.  Watching your husband blanch and squirm a little is just a bonus.  When I suggested that S take Louie in to the vet this morning on his way to work, he shook his head and said quietly, “Um… I can’t do it.” And then, when I said I’d take him, S looked at me with fear.  “You seem awfully eager.” Ha.

After Louie has recovered, I’ll make sure he gets to play with his new favorite dog toy.

Ice, Ice, Baby!

That’s right:  an ice cube.  He loves them.

I’m sure it’s because he has to catch them, and when he’s crunching on them, the ice feels so good on his poor little teething mouth.  He eats 7-10 of these in a row, begging for more when he dissolves one.  Cheapest dog toy ever.

So cool and refreshing!

I’m sure Louie won’t remember his surgery.  But I’m not sure that S will ever look at me quite the same way again.  🙂

 

 

 

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Puppy love. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beware the Ides of March

  1. Micha says:

    Mine loves ice cubes too! He comes running anytime he hears me grabbing some from the freezer. How is Louie doing?

Leave a Reply

