The cuddlier side of the Force

It’s a little less than a month until Easter, but the stores are bursting with all the standard bunny fare, including:

1. A shelf exploding with pastel-hued stuffed animals

Bunnies!

2. Candy, candy, candy, candy, candy, candy, candy!

3. Lovely multi-colored baskets

4. Adorable egg hunt signs

5. Fake plastic eggs, the regular kind and the more expensive Character-from-a-kid’s-show kind

So imagine my surprise when I saw, nestled among all the innocent-looking bunnies, this:

A Cookie-Monster-blue Darth Vader candy dispenser! And his buddy, a Pillsbury-Dough-Boy-like StormTrooper (can’t you just hear the giggle?).

Is it just me or aren’t Vader and the stormtroopers supposed to represent the Dark Side — which would be the opposite of the Easter vibe we’re all used to? I could get it if the candy dispenser looked like Yoda with a facelift or a squat R2D2.

But it’s a blue Darth Vader with a pudgy StormTrooper.

And lets’s face it: the minute my husband S sees it, he’ll want it just for the pure irony of it. Those marketers really know what they’re doing.

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Easter, Family, Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The cuddlier side of the Force

  1. Micha says:

    I’m loving the Storm Trooper! My weakness is all the Easter ceramic pieces, like the bowls, plates, and platters. I never need them, but each year I must pick up something!

    • I know exactly what you mean. I’m drawn to those holiday sections of the stores “just to see” what’s out there this year. And I know darn well I don’t need a thing, but I’m helpless in the face of cuteness.

  2. where did you get the Darth Vader dispenser? haha tempted to get it as I love Star Wars!

    • All of that stuff is at Target in the seasonal stuff (at least it is at the Target by me). I’d hurry, though. I’m sure we’ll all be there trying to score one of the “softer side of Vader” candy dispensers. 🙂

  3. King_Bonobo says:

    Luke, I am your dispenser…

Leave a Reply

