Random Friday

1.  The Spring Knitty is up!  Even if you don’t knit, you gotta see the designs.  So. Fun.

2.  It’s time for a “big cook” around here.  Every once in a while, I make crazy amounts of a favorite dish — this time, it’s homemade mac and cheese.  I make oodles of it, apportion it out into plasticware (I would do glassware, but the odds of it actually surviving without my dropping it? Not great), label and freeze.  I’m gearing up to do these “big cooks” over the next few weeks, so we’ll have chicken pot pie, shepherd’s pie, mac and cheese, cinnamon rolls, eggplant parmesan, chicken parmesan, chicken noodle soup, cranberry chili, chocolate chip cookies, snickerdoodles, and probably at least 2 other soups.  That way during the summer, we can rummage in the freezer, pull out something and zap it. No heating up the house because I suddenly feel the overwhelming urge to make cinnamon rolls…

3.  Daylight Saving Time happens on Saturday night.  Not that I don’t appreciate the extra hour of daylight, but I’ll be discombobulated for the next few weeks, trying to readjust my mindset to what the light looks like at 3 p.m.  Do you know that feeling?  You look around you at the glorious sunshine, thinking, “Looks like it’s about 2 p.m.” but really it’s 3:30, and the kids are on their way home, and suddenly you’re wondering what you really thought you were going to get accomplished today.  My remedy?  A) Be gentle with yourself and others because shifting time does mess around with our internal clocks and moods; B) enjoy the light; and C) eat chocolate.  Maybe that last one doesn’t really help with this situation, but it’s my standard go-to when I feel strange, bored, happy, tired, etc.

4.  I found this note on E’s door:

Folding Club (note the yarn!)

Since a Folding-Laundry Club is probably out of the question, I’m guessing we’ll be doing a little origami this weekend.  I’m just happy I got invited to the club.

Hope you have a good weekend!

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Crafts, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Friday

  1. 1 – Knitty is awesome! I think my next project for myself has to be the Carousel socks. Those are fabulous.

    2 – and a folding laundry club? That’s awesome. My daughter and I do a “movie and laundry” day, where we fold all of the laundry during a movie. Extra points if she helps me put it away afterwards.

    • I’m going to have to try a Movie and Laundry day — I love that idea. Think it would work with my sons as well? Maybe if we watched something like “Thor” or “X-Men” or some other boy movie.

Leave a Reply

