The upside of late

As I write this, we are prepping for a hideous bout of cold weather. The dread “polar vortex” cometh, and tomorrow, we will all be cloistered in our homes, praying that the power stays on. With wind chills near the unimaginable (a real-feel temperature of -45 degrees Fahrenheit, you say?), they’ve already called off school. Businesses have announced they’ll be closed on Monday.

It’s time to hunker down and wait. And worry.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a weather-worrier. I’ll pace the floors, feeling the cold creep through the window seams and hearing the house pop and crack as the wind whips snow into huge drifts. I’ll check the furnace, check that the door to the garage (the one that is often not latched all the way) is really closed, check that Louie the Wonder Pup is okay after he skates outside on our icy patio to the little clearing I made for him. I flick open The Weather Channel app as often as a Kardashian updates her Instagram. I recognize that I can do nothing to change Mother Nature’s wrath. And that is why I worry.

The kids, on the other hand, are pretty excited that they get an extension of their winter holiday break, but they are bummed that it’s far too cold to even think about going outside to snowboard in all this new-fallen snow. They’ve been hanging out downstairs in the family room — the one room with the coldest and draftiest floors. And even though they claim that they’re fine, I get cold just looking at them in their t-shirts and bare feet. It is not that warm in here, because I am a big believer in adding a layer instead of turning up the thermostat. So I told them to put on at least some socks or slippers.

As my son C trudged off, I called him back and tossed these to him:

20140105-212821.jpg

These were supposed to be my Christmas present to my son who only wanted a pair of “good socks.” But as it became evident that there was no way I was going to make that deadline, I thought I could bust them out by New Year’s Eve and finish the year with a flourish. No such luck. It turns out that eating appetizers and playing games is not all that conducive to knitting, which was not news to me but was clearly something that I had not factored in to my calculations.

No matter. I refuse to call them overdue; rather, they are my first FO of 2014. It’s one way to get a jump on my resolution to knit faster.

And he likes them. Now, whether he likes them because he finally got a pair of handknit socks or because they are a bright and happy green that he chose, I’m not sure. But I have a sneaking suspicion that he brightened up as he pulled them on because he didn’t have to go ferret out a clean pair from his dresser. Ah, the upside of a late gift!

Anyone else just finish a Christmas “leftover” gift? And are you also caught in this polar vortex or is the weather fantastic where you are?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Family, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The upside of late

  1. go Mama O says:

    Yes, I’m in the polar vortex too. Love that term!! So ready for 30’s again!

  2. My kids are thrilled to have a bonus day off today too! But where we are, the cold has finally broken after a deep freeze of about a week. Now it’s freezing rain that’s the problem… hasn’t stopped all night and they’re predicting a flash freeze later this morning when the temperatures are going to plummet again. Isn’t winter fun? Good luck weathering the storm!

Leave a Reply

