Return of summer food

We must be heading into summer because, this weekend, I found myself making summery, picnic food.  A lot of summery food.

Pasta Salad

Easiest dish in the world.  Cook some pasta (really, whatever tubular, wavy, spirally pasta you have).  Drain and rinse with cool water.  Toss with chopped lettuce (arugula, romaine, seriously whatever you have), cherry tomatoes, bits of cauliflower, chopped green pepper and carrots.  Pour on a vinaigrette and eat.  Delish!  Tastes like summer.

Fruit Salad

Second easiest dish in the world.  Cut up a honeydew melon, add grapes, blackberries and blueberries.  Mix.  Eat.  Yum.  If pasta salad tastes like summer, this fruit salad tastes like sunshine in a bowl.

 

 

Mom’s Baked Beans

Brace yourself.  In my opinion, my mom’s baked beans are the best on the planet (no hyperbole!).  These are so good I’ll eat them cold, eat them as a meal all by themselves, eat them with a fox on a box, etc. etc.  They are ridiculously good.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1/2 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2- 15 oz cans of pork and beans
  • approximately 1 cup ketchup
  • 1 Tbl chili powder
  • 1 Tbl apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbl brown sugar
  • salt, black pepper and worchestershire sauce to taste

Preheat oven to 350.  Brown ground beef  and drain.  Add in bell pepper and onion and cook until slightly softened (just a couple of minutes).  Put the beef, bell pepper and onion mixture into a 2 quart casserole dish.  Add in both cans of beans.  Squirt in about a cup of ketchup, then add chili powder, brown sugar and apple cider vinegar.  Mix it up, adding in any black pepper, salt or worchestershire sauce to taste.  Bake for an hour.  Yep, an hour.  Don’t shortchange the time.

This dish is heartier than most baked beans I’ve tried because of the addition of ground beef.  It has almost a chili-like consistency.  My dad likes them “baked dry” so they aren’t so gloppy on a plate and the flavors are concentrated down.  So. Good.

What did you make this weekend?  Are you craving summery foods too?

About thethingaboutjoan

Mom of three who knits a little, bakes a lot, crafts a bit and blogs about it all.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Return of summer food

  1. Micha says:

    I’m trying those beans!! They look so good! :)

  2. Michelle's Cookie-Cutter Blog says:

    How fun! Summer food!! That makes me happy :)

    • Yeah… summer food makes me think of picnics and playgrounds. Ah!

      Glad to see you’re back with your new site. I’ve left a hello over there and I signed up to follow you (keeping my fingers crossed for the giveaway!).

      • Michelle @ MakeMeCake.Me says:

        Picnics and playgrounds are the best!

        I just saw your hello and am glad you signed up. Yahoo!! Also, I wish everyone could win cookies. Wouldn’t that be cool? I want to win cookies, too! ;)

  3. Soon as I read Mom’s Baked Beans I was hoping there was a recipe to follow. Sounds good!
    -Nizzy

  4. Lis says:

    Mmmm, pasta salad sounds good today!

Leave a Reply

